James Murua on Literary Publicity and Capturing New Voices: An Interview

James Murua Profile photo

We caught up with James Murua to discuss his blogging journey, running the biggest literary blog in Africa and how best we can promote emerging voices in the literary world.

 

Hi James, it’s such a pleasure to have you on Mehara Lit. Our readers are curious to know more about you. Can you tell as a bit about yourself? Who is James Murua?

I am a Blogger and Journalist based out of Nairobi, Kenya. I started as a blogger in 2006 with a blog called Nairobiliving.com (since discontinued) where I would talk about what was happening in Nairobi. It was really a new idea then and went on to become one of the most well regarded at the time. From here, I would get a newspaper column with startup newspaper, The Star. I would be there for nine years learning how to write for a print publication. Since I left the newsroom three years ago, I have been freelancing while working on my blog.

You run one of the biggest literary blogs in Africa. What formed the inspiration behind it, how has your experience running it been so far and what is the secret behind your success?

I set up the self-named blog JamesMurua.com in 2013 when someone asked me what I did for myself as an artist apart from working for a corporation. After thinking about it, I decided to take the challenge and set up a blog focused on African writers. This was because I was around writers and had noted that there was nowhere one could find out information about what they did professionally. The idea with naming it after myself was that if it failed, I would at least put my own things like résumé and the like on there.

In the last few years since I started, I have found that the writing community on the continent has welcomed what I have been doing. The stats have been going up regularly from that time when I began. What have I been doing that is different from other blogs? I follow the principles that I learned in the newsroom where a story is concerned.  Where, When, What, Why and How are some of the answers that I attempt to answer on all the work I do.

 

I set up the self-named blog JamesMurua.com in 2013 when someone asked me what I did for myself as an artist apart from working for a corporation. After thinking about it, I decided to take the challenge and set up a blog focused on African writers.

 

Last year, you won the Sanaa Theatre Awards held in Nairobi, Kenya for Best Theatre, Arts and Culture Writer. How did it feel getting recognition for what you do at home?

Winning the Sanaa Theatre Awards was a huge highlight for a very activity filled 2018. When doing my work, it can be very hard to know if people even know what you are attempting to do, as there are very few that comment on the blog or share links to my knowledge. This recognition from my peers tells me that I am doing an important job for my society and there is nothing that can describe how fulfilling it is.

How would you describe today’s African Literary Scene as someone who plays a huge part in keeping Literary Enthusiasts abreast with the happenings around the continent?

I started following the literary scene in 2003. In East Africa then, the only game was the Uganda Women’s Writers Association popularly known as Femrite until the Kwani Trust appeared on the Kenyan scene. I wasn’t following the whole continent but from speaking to many writers in the recent past, the scene didn’t have much going for it with a handful of writers emerging in a decade.

Today the literary scene is on the up and up. Many books of many genres being produced by writers from many corners of the continent are here. The powerhouses are South Africa and Nigeria but the other countries are starting to come to the fore which is only good for the whole community.

Another indicator is the proliferation of literary festivals which weren’t that many when I started following this industry. Today, many countries have at least one literary festival and many have more than one. These events are being attended by mainly African writers, which means that there are enough to go around what is now becoming a festival circuit.

 

Today the literary scene is on the up and up. Many books of many genres being produced by writers from many corners of the continent are here.

 

In recent times, podcasts have become a trending revolution in the literary sphere. How convenient is it in terms of coverage and from your assessment, what is its level of acceptance in the community?

The Podcast is the hot new space not just with literature but with the general internet community. It’s interesting that Podcasts are coming back into vogue now after falling out of the cool space for a few years.

For literature, Podcasts are ideal as those who would log onto them are huge fans of books. Unfortunately, the downside is that there aren’t enough Podcasts being produced, for what is currently a scene that is blowing up with a handful regularly posting up content.

Some opine that African authors in the Diaspora are more recognized and well represented by African literary activists, sites and blogs. What is your thought on this?

I believe that this is the wrong question as all African authors tend to get very little representation in the media space wherever they are. If you look at the amount of press that an African writer based in London, Paris, New York or the famous cities gets, you will find that it can be very little. This is because they will be competing with authors from the country they are based; please note that even in those countries not that much space is available to authors as we like to imagine.

With such a small amount of publicity going around, perhaps we need to find a way of increasing the publications locally and internationally, that feature authors from Africa whether they live on the continent or the diaspora.

 

With such a small amount of publicity going around, perhaps we need to find a way of increasing the publications locally and internationally, that feature authors from Africa whether they live on the continent or the diaspora.

 

To what extent do literary news and publicists capture new voices? Are there lapses?

A prophet is quoted in a famous holy book stating that “the harvest is plentiful but the labourers are few.” This applies to the African literary scene as so much is happening all over the continent and there are too few people there to do justice to it. Those working in this sector will always keep abreast of the big name authors, books and events throughout the year. At some times in the year, especially in the second half, so much stuff is coming out that anyone trying to keep up will miss a lot. This applies especially to those who are coming into the field as newbies which can be very discouraging. I really wish more people were covering this scene as the content is there now.

What can be done to bridge these gaps?

There are many models that have been attempted and succeeded in many countries that we can use with our own needs in mind. In my opinion, we have to look at the long run with government and other players being involved. Build more libraries, stock them with books from African writers and not the books about to be pulped in other societies called “aid”, focus on reading for pleasure and not just employment. If more people shared their ideas we should all be able to bridge these gaps.

 

I really wish more people were covering this scene as the content is there now.

 

We are pretty sure that what you do is not without challenges and some people out there, would love to one day be at your level. Can you let us in on some of these challenges and how you are able to overcome them?

There have been challenges without a doubt. When I started this project I had a full time job and this was a hobby to keep me busy. Now that I am working on this as my main gig over the last couple of years, the lack of financing can be a real downer especially when you consider I have bills to pay. At many times in the recent past, I have considered stopping doing this and getting a full time job that generates a lot of money.

Also challenging was that many people in the publishing industry, do not seem to understand how media can help their cause especially here in East Africa. Thus when I approached some of them to find out about titles they were initially very dismissive, hostile even. Now that I have stuck around and they see what role I play, attitudes are changing. Slowly.

 

To keep up with upcoming African Literary Events, News, Awards and Announcements check James Murua’s literature blog http://www.jamesmurua.com and follow him on twitter @jamesmurua

Leave a comment